• 1.1. the deep
  • 1.2. aquacode databreaks (ft. shabazz palaces)
  • 1.3. drownt
  • 1.4. the deep (instrumental)
  • 1.5. aquacode databreaks (instrumental)
  • 1.6. drownt (instrumental)


the deep ep


12"  €  13,99
In stock. Delivery in Germany in 2-3 working days
Only 1 left in stock!
price incl. VAT , excl. shipping

product info

Experimental hip-hop group Clipping's "The Deep" is a dark sci-fi tale about the underwater-dwelling descendants of African women thrown off slave ships, based on the mythology of Detroit electronic group Drexciya. The song was originally commissioned for a This American Life about Afrofuturism in 2017. The track earned Clipping a nomination for a 2018 Hugo award, and the band constructed a sound installation based on "The Deep" at the Massachusetts Museum of Contemporary Art. This release comes on the heels of the November 5th release of The Deep, a novella by Rivers Solomon (with Clipping credited as co-authors) inspired by the title track and published by Saga Press. The vinyl and digital versions include two otherwise-unreleased extra tracks - ... read more